We'll peak at World Championships, says British rowing boss Tanner

We'll peak at World Championships, says British rowing boss Tanner

10 August 2017 / 11:14

Medals will be on the agenda after British Rowing announced its squad for the World Rowing Championship in the United States next month.

The 64-strong team includes four Olympic gold-medal winning athletes, and 14 Olympians in total, as they steel themselves for the championships in Sarasota-Bradenton, Florida, between September 24 and October 1.

Great Britain’s form heading into the championships is good - they won the World Rowing Cup series by 26 points from New Zealand – including two individual event titles.

The men’s four of Matt Rossiter, Moe Sbihi, Matthew Tarrant and Will Satch won silver at the second round of the World Cup in Poznan in June, before going one better in the final round in Lucerne, Switzerland the following month.

Another triumphant World Cup outfit are unchanged, with Jack Beaumont, Jonny Walton, John Collins and Peter Lambert, who won gold in Poznan as well as silver in Lucerne, reunited in the men’s quadruple sculls.

Vicky Thornley will hope to continue her consistent form – she has a European title and two silvers from World Cup competitions this season in the single scull, while Tom Barras will go in the men’s single.

Elsewhere, Rio 2016 Olympic champion Tom Ransley returns surgery to remove his appendicitis to take his place in the men’s eight, while London 2012 winner Katherine Copeland is paired with Emily Craig in the lightweight women’s double sculls.

Karen Bennett, and Holly Norton will both compete in the women's eight - Bennett winning silver in Rio, and the crew claimed bronze in Lucerne and silver in Poznan. 

British Rowing Performance Director, Sir David Tanner, said: “The 2017 World Championships come at the end of a long, but rewarding season for the GB Rowing Team.

"We have seen some exceptional performances over the course of the summer to win a number of European Championships and World Cup medals and we were, of course, pleased to win the overall World Cup title.

“That distinction highlights our consistency across what is a foundation season in our build up to the Tokyo 2020 Olympic and Paralympic Games.

"These Championships are what we’ve built our season around and we plan to be at our peak in Sarasota at the end of September.”

Men's squad

Tom Jeffery (Club: Leander Club/Hometown: Plymouth)
Tom George (Leander Club/Oxford)

Coxed pair
Tim Clarke (Leander Club/Henley-on-Thames)
Tom Ford (Leander Club/Holmes Chapel)
Harry Brightmore (cox) (Oxford Brookes Univ. BC/Chester)

Lightweight pair
Joel Cassells (Oxford Brookes Univ. BC/Coleraine)
Sam Scrimgeour (Molesey BC/Kirriemuir)

Matt Rossiter (Leander Club/Newbury)
Moe Sbihi (Molesey BC/Surbiton)
Mat Tarrant (Oxford Brookes Univ. BC/Shepperton)
Will Satch (Leander Club/Henley-on-Thames)

Ollie Cook (Oxford Univ. BC/Windsor)
Callum McBrierty (Leander Club/Edinburgh)
Jacob Dawson (Leander Club/Plymouth)
Adam Neill (Leander Club/Peterborough)
Tom Ransley (Leander Club/Ashford, Kent)
Alan Sinclair (Leander Club/Inverness)
James Rudkin (Newcastle Univ. BC/Litchborough)
Lance Tredell (Cambridge Univ. BC/Altrincham)
Henry Fieldman (cox) (Molesey BC/London)

Single scull
Tom Barras (Leander Club/Staines)

Lightweight double scull
Sam Mottram (Leander Club/Stoke Mandeville)
Jamie Copus (Oxford Brookes Univ. BC/Watlington)

Quadruple scull
Jack Beaumont (Leander Club/Maidenhead)
Jonny Walton (Leander Club/Leicester)
John Collins (Leander Club/Twickenham)
Peter Lambert (Leander Club/Maidenhead)

Lightweight quadruple scull
Gavin Horsburgh (Edinburgh Univ. BC/Lochwinnoch)
Peter Chambers (Oxford Brookes Univ. BC/Coleraine)
Ed Fisher (Leander Club/Nottingham)
Zak Lee-Green (Agecroft/Cardiff)

Men's reserves
Frazier Christie (Leander Club/Bath)
Cameron Buchan (Leander Club/Dunipace)
Oliver Wynne-Griffith (Leander Club/Guildford)

Women's squad

Holly Hill (Cambridge Univ. Women's BC/Gossington)
Melissa Wilson (Cambridge Univ. Women's BC/Edinburgh)

Anastasia Chitty (Leander Club/Oxford)
Rebecca Chin (Agecroft/Deganwy)
Fiona Gammond (Leander Club/Bicester)
Katherine Douglas (Leander Club/Edinburgh)
Josephine Wratten (Leander Club/Middlesbrough)
Holly Norton (Leander Club/Johannesburg)
Karen Bennett (Leander Club/Edinburgh)
Rebecca Shorten (Imperial College BC/Belfast)
Matilda Horn (cox) (Univ. of London BC/Windsor)

Single scull
Victoria Thornley (Leander Club/Wrexham)

Lightweight double scull
Katherine Copeland (Leander Club/Ingleby Barwick)
Emily Craig (Univ. of London BC/Mark Cross)

Quadruple scull
Beth Bryan (Leander Club/Stockton-on-Tees)
Mathilda Hodgkins-Byrne (Reading RC/Hereford)
Holly Nixon (Leander Club/Enniskillen)
Fourth rower to be confirmed

Lightweight quadruple scull
Maddie Arlett (Edinburgh Univ. BC/Selkirk)
Robyn Hart-Winks (Univ. of London BC/Kirriemuir)
Eleanor Piggott (Wallingford RC/Bedford)
Gemma Hall (Wallingford RC/Wargrave)

Women's reserves
Alice Baatz (Agecroft/Winchester)
Georgia Francis (Imperial College BC/Newbury)
Ellie Lewis (Agecroft/Marlow)

Sportsbeat 2017

Join the Team GB club today, check it out right here