Under 20s Women’s Water Polo team selected for World Champs

13 August 2012 / 00:00

GBR U20s Women’s Water Polo team has been selected ahead of the World Championships in Volos, Greece.

The squad of 13 includes Jade Smith and Claire Nixon who both competed at the senior World Championships in Barcelona earlier this month.

We’re looking forward to getting out there and challenging the top teams. - Nick Hume, Head Coach.The Brits will face a tough group stage with the first match taking place on August 18th against Hungary, the silver medallists from 2011.

They will then play Brazil on the 19th with Russia (fourth place in 2011) on 20th August before the group cross over and quarter final matches.

The tournament marks a return to the World Championships after a 14 year absence for the Under 20’s who earned qualification by finishing in seventh place at the U19 European Championships in 2012.  In their last outing in 1999, the Brits finished 10th overall.

Nick Hume, Head Coach said: “It’s a great achievement to have qualified for the tournament.

“We have a tough group with Hungary and Russia. Brazil, like us, will be looking to be competitive ahead of the Rio Games in three years time.

“The team has a great spirit and have played together for around three years through the national talent programme.

“We’re looking forward to getting out there and challenging the top teams.”

Graeme Thompson, National Performance Director for British Water Polo said: “It’s great to see our junior team following the senior team onto the world stage.

“Like their senior counterparts, they earned that right and now they should embrace the challenge of competing with the world’s best talent.”

The British Gas GBR U20 Water Polo team

  • Jade Smith (GK) – City of Manchester (Oldham)
  • Claire Nixon - London Otter (Stafford)
  • Katie Hesketh – City of Liverpool (Lancaster)
  • Ella Chadderton – City of Manchester (Oldham)
  • Sophie Gilbert - City of Liverpool (Birkenhead)
  • Danielle Elliot - City of Coventry (Leicester)
  • Courtney Dean – City of Liverpool (Warrington)
  • Kate Thompson - (GK) Cardiff (Birkenhead)
  • Honor Grimes – City of Manchester (Manchester)
  • Rosie Huck – City of Manchester (Stockport)
  • Lauren Tasker – Tilsley Water Polo (Liverpool)
  • Brooke Tafazolli - London Otter (Sutton)
  • Rhianne Oscroft - City of Coventry (Leamington Spa)


  • Katy Andrew - City of Manchester (Oldham)
  • Tilley Penney  - Wrexham (Chester)