Team GB name rowing men's pair for Rio 2016
Road to Rio

Team GB name rowing men's pair for Rio 2016

24 June 2016 / 09:17

The British Olympic Association has today announced rowing duo Alan Sinclair and Stewart Innes will race as the men’s pair at the Rio 2016 Olympic Games.

European Championship silver medallists Sinclair and Innes were earlier this month named in a group of 12 rowers from which the men’s eight, pair and two reserves were to be confirmed for Rio 2016.

The Inverness-Henley combination have now been confirmed after a thrilling world cup final in Poznan at the weekend in which they narrowly edged out team-mates Nathaniel Reilly-O’Donnell and Matthew Tarrant to take bronze.

Reilly O’Donnell and Tarrant will now support the Olympic sweep team, which includes the men’s eight – who won world cup silver in Poznan, losing narrowly to Olympic Champions Germany.

A second Scot, Kirriemuir’s Sam Scrimgeour, will also travel to Rio as the lightweight men’s reserve. This brings the number of named rowers up to 44, from 47 places.

Reigning World and European Champion Scrimgeour is unbeaten this season in the lightweight men’s pair.

Earlier this month the bulk of Team GB’s rowers were announced. They included Olympic Champions Helen Glover and Heather Stanning, who return to defend their title in the women’s pair, while Alex Gregory will also look to defend his men’s four gold from London 2012.

Gregory will race alongside Mohamed Sbihi, George Nash and Constantine Louloudis, who were all bronze medallists at London 2012. Both boats won gold in the world cup in Poznan last weekend.

Olympic lightweight women’s double scull champion Katherine Copeland will seek to defend her crown in Rio alongside Olympic debutante Charlotte Taylor. Both were World Championship silver medallists last year.

The equivalent lightweight men’s double scull will feature London 2012 lightweight men’s four silver medallist Richard Chambers with another first-time Olympian Will Fletcher. The duo also won World silver in 2015.

Peter Chambers, Richard’s younger brother, will race with his London 2012 silver medal winning crew-mate Chris Bartley in a lightweight four which includes Jono Clegg and Mark Aldred for Rio 2016.  They won bronze in Poznan last weekend.

Zoe de Toledo will cox the women’s eight who have already been crowned European Champions and twice world cup silver medallists in 2016. This crew features Frances Houghton who’s set for her fifth Olympic Games appearance, while 2013 World women’s pair champion Polly Swann will enjoy her first Olympic outing.

Team GB will have a strong sculling squad in Rio with London 2012 bronze medallist Alan Campbell racing in the single scull, while Jonathan Walton and John Collins will contest the men’s double scull.   

Walton and Collins produced a career best performance at the weekend’s world cup, taking silver, while Campbell continued to show a return to form with bronze.

Peter Lambert, Sam Townsend, Angus Groom and Graeme Thomas are set for the quadruple sculls with GB having won world cup men’s quad silver in Lucerne three weeks ago.

The selected athletes are:

Men’s Four

Alex Gregory

Mohammed Sbihi

George Nash

Constantine Louloudis


Men’s Single

Alan Campbell


Men’s Double

Jonathan Walton

John Collins


Men’s Quad

Peter Lambert

Sam Townsend

Angus Groom

Graeme Thomas


Men’s Pair

Alan Sinclair

Stewart Innes

Eight, 2 Spares from:

Paul Bennett

Scott Durant

Matt Gotrel

Andrew T Hodge

Matt Langridge

Tom Ransley

Pete Reed

Nathaniel Reilly O’Donnell

William Satch

Matthew Tarrant


Cox of Men’s Eight

Phelan Hill


Women’s Pair

Helen Glover

Heather Stanning


Women’s Eight

Katie Greves

Melanie Wilson

Frances Houghton

Polly Swann

Jessica Eddie

Olivia Carnegie-Brown

Karen Bennett

Zoe Lee


Cox of Women’s Eight

Zoe de Toledo


Men’s Lightweight Four

Chris Bartley

Mark Aldred

Jono Clegg

Peter Chambers


Men’s Lightweight Double Scull

Will Fletcher

Richard Chambers


Women’s Lightweight Double Scull

Charlotte Taylor

Katherine Copeland


Lighweight men’s spare

Sam Scrimgeour