Team GB's cyclists announced for Rio 2016
Road to Rio

Team GB's cyclists announced for Rio 2016

24 June 2016 / 13:48

Thrilling displays at both Beijing 2008 and London 2012 has propelled cycling to become one of Team GB's most successful sports and today we can announce another strong squad heading to Rio 2016.

The 26 selected athletes come from three disciplines; track, road and BMX and will travel to Rio this summer for the Olympic Games, which kick off on August 5.

Mark Cavendish and Sir Bradley Wiggins at London 2016

Seven-time Olympic medallist Sir Bradley Wiggins returns to the track after claiming time trial gold at London 2012 and he will be joined by former World Champion and 26-time Tour de France stage winner Mark Cavendish – who returns to the Olympic boards after competing at Beijing 2008.

Four more Olympic medallists are included for the men with Jason Kenny, Ed Clancy, Phillip Hindes and Steven Burke returning while Owain Doull and Callum Skinner are set to make their first Olympic appearances. Ryan Owens will also travel to Rio as the team’s P accredited rider for the team sprint.

GB women's team pursuit squad at London 2015

Olympic Champions Laura Trott and Joanna Rowsell Shand head up the women’s track team alongside former World Champions Katie Archibald, Elinor Barker and Becky James with Katy Marchant and Ciara Horne completing the track squad.

2013 World Champion and London 2012 finalist Liam Phillips is one of two BMX riders set to compete for Team GB in Rio with Kyle Evans set for his first Olympic appearance.

BMX cyclist Liam Phillips selected for Rio 2016

On the road, two-time Tour de France king and Olympic time trial bronze medallist Chris Froome will be supported by Olympic Champions Geraint Thomas and Pete Kennaugh as well as Adam Yates and Ian Stannard.

World Road Champion Lizzie Armitstead leads the women’s squad with Beijing 2008 time trial silver medallist Emma Pooley and first-time Olympian Nikki Harris.

The selected athletes are:

Men’s Track:

Jason Kenny, 28, hometown Bolton

Phillip Hindes, 23, Manchester

Callum Skinner, 23, Glasgowmarhcan

Bradley Wiggins, 36, London

Mark Cavendish, 31, Douglas

Owain Doull, 23, Cardiff

Steven Burke, 28, Burnley

Ed Clancy, 31, Barnsley

Ryan Owens, 20, Aspley Guise, Beds

Women’s Track:

Rebecca James, 24, Abergavenny

Katy Marchant, 23, Leeds

Laura Trott, 24, Harlow

Katie Archibald, 22, Milngavie

Joanna Rowsell Shand, 27, Carshalton

Elinor Barker, 21, Cardiff

Ciara Horne, 26, Harrow

Men’s Road:

Geraint Thomas, 30, Cardiff

Chris Froome, 31, Nairobi

Adam Yates, 23, Bury

Peter Kennaugh, 27, Douglas

Ian Stannard, 29, Chelmsford

Women’s Road:

Lizzie Armitstead, 27, Otley

Emma Pooley, 33, Wandsworth

Nikki Harris, 29, Draycott

Men’s BMX:

Liam Phillips, 27, Taunton

Kyle Evans, 22, Wigan