Laura Kenny to spearhead British Cycling team at Glasgow 2018
Cycling Track

Laura Kenny to spearhead British Cycling team at Glasgow 2018

19 July 2018 / 13:29

Team GB's most successful female Olympian Laura Kenny is confident of being in good shape when she spearheads the Great Britain Cycling Team at next month's European Championships.

The squad features 13 Olympic medallists, including the likes of Mark Cavendish, Jason Kenny, Katie Archibald, Geraint Thomas and Dani Rowe, who will compete across four different disciplines in Glasgow.

Only returning to elite level competitions in April after the birth of her son Albie, Laura Kenny will be looking to add to her tally of ten European Championship titles on the Glasgow track.

The seven-time world champion, who raced to silver at the Track Cycling World Championships in Apeldoorn in April said: “I’m really looking forward to the Glasgow 2018 European Championships next month.

“I think the standard of racing is going to be high as all the nations’ attention turns to qualifying early points for the Olympic Games.

“Training has been going well for me, and I’m feeling good.

“I’ve done a couple of smaller races around Europe recently – I’ve been pleased with my form and I know where I need to focus on to be ready for the European Championships.”

Her husband and six-time Olympic champion Jason Kenny will compete alongside defending European champions Archibald, Elinor Barker and Eleanor Dickinson, and reigning world team pursuit champions Ed Clancy, Kian Emadi, Ethan Hayter and Charlie Tanfield.

Elsewhere, a longlist of 31 riders has been named for the men’s and women’s road race and time trial events, with final selection due to take place later this month.

Current Tour de France leader Thomas is expected to feature alongside Cavendish, Luke Rowe and Dani Rowe.

Stephen Park, British Cycling’s performance director said: “We were really pleased with the number of professional road riders who put their hands up to represent their country at the Glasgow 2018 European Championships.

“We’ve taken the decision to make the final selection for the road and time trial events at a later date, as obviously we are in the midst of a busy road racing season at all levels and a lot can change.

“Taking a view of the whole team, we’ve selected a strong squad with some genuine medal prospects in each of the cycling disciplines. I’m looking forward to seeing the team compete in what promises to be a great event."

Commonwealth mountain bike champion Annie Last will wear GB colours alongside Scottish Olympian Grant Ferguson in the mountain bike event.

Six BMXers including Kyle Evans, who finished sixth at last month’s UCI BMX World Championships, and former junior world champion Beth Shriever will feature in the BMX Supercross event.

Men’s BMX: Kyle Evans, Quillan Isidore, Curtis Manaton, Paddy Sharrock & Kye Whyte

Women’s BMX: Beth Shriever

Men’s cross-country mountain bike: Grant Ferguson

Women’s cross-country mountain bike: Annie Last

Men’s track endurance: John Archibald, Steven Burke, Ed Clancy, Kian Emadi, Ethan Hayter, Charlie Tanfield, Matthew Walls & Ollie Wood

Women’s track endurance: Katie Archibald, Elinor Barker, Ellie Dickinson, Neah Evans, Emily Kay & Laura Kenny

Men’s track sprint: Jack Carlin, Philip Hindes, Jason Kenny, Ryan Owens & Joe Truman

Women’s track sprint: Lauren Bate, Sophie Capewell & Katy Marchant

Men’s road longlist (eight for road race, two for time trial): Ian Bibby, Adam Blythe, Mark Cavendish, Mark Christian, Scott Davies, Jon Dibben, Owain Doull, Alex Dowsett, Andy Fenn, James Knox, Chris Lawless, Dan McLay, Luke Rowe, Ian Stannard, Ben Swift, Harry Tanfield, Geraint Thomas & Scott Thwaites

Women’s road longlist (eight for road race, two for time trial): Elizabeth Banks, Alice Barnes, Anna Christian, Dani Christmas, Natalie Grinczer, Anna Henderson, Lizzie Holden, Nikki Juniper, Mel Lowther, Abi Mae Parkinson, Dani Rowe, Hayley Simmonds & Sophie Wright

Sportsbeat 2018