Men's 4x400m quartet to receive Beijing Olympic bronze at the Anniversary Games

Martyn Rooney, Andrew Steele, Robert Tobin and Michael Bingham to get podium moment in the London Stadium.

Team GB’s men’s 4x400m relay team from 2008 will receive a heroes’ reception at the Müller Anniversary Games on 9 July, when they are awarded their overdue Olympic bronze medals from Beijing.

The quartet of Martyn Rooney (coach: Graham Hedman), Andrew Steele (Chris Zah), Robert Tobin (Todd Bennett) and Michael Bingham (George Williams) were moved up from fourth to third after Russia's disqualification, when retrospective testing of urine samples found that anchor runner Denis Alekseyev had used a banned substance.

The four British athletes will finally get their podium moment in the London Stadium, in front of a cheering British crowd and live on the BBC at 13.43 on Sunday.

Former European 400m champion Martyn Rooney said: “I can’t wait to step on the podium at the Anniversary Games with my teammates and finally get the Olympic medals we all deserve.

“While it would have been an unforgettable moment to receive my medal in Beijing, I can’t think of a better substitute than to stand on the podium in the London Stadium, in front of an appreciative and supportive British crowd.”

Rooney added: “I’m sure it will be an emotional moment for all of us, but it will also be a great boost to the GB team in what will be our send-off event before the World Championships.

“Having another global event on home soil is huge, so although getting my medal will be amazing, I’ll be fully focussed on delivering a strong performance to set me up for the competition in the coming weeks."

Sir Hugh Robertson, Chairman of the British Olympic Association said: “These four Team GB athletes missed the opportunity to celebrate their extraordinary achievement surrounded by their family, friends and Team GB fans in Beijing.  Now, we are delighted to be able to present their medals at such a prestigious event, in front of a home crowd.  It is a very fitting tribute and I hope they will enjoy their moment of recognition.”

Twelve reigning Olympic champions, including Sir Mo Farah, 23 Olympic silver and bronze medallists from Rio, and eleven current world champions will take part in this year’s star-studded Anniversary Games, which will be the last chance for many athletes to compete ahead of the IAAF World Championships on 4-13 August.

For tickets to see the world’s best athletes at the Anniversary Games go to

The British Olympic Association is still waiting on confirmation of the amended results and reallocated medals from the women’s javelin, women’s 4x400m and heptathlon where current sanctions could see British athletes retrospectively awarded medals.

The process of reallocation begins with the sanctioning of athletes following the retesting of samples from the Olympic Games. Those disqualified athletes then have a right to appeal.

If a disqualified athlete’s appeal is unsuccessful, the IOC is only then able to officially reallocate the medals and will do so informing the British Olympic Association.