Kennys spearhead GB charge at Track World Championships

Jason and Laura Kenny will lead the charge as Great Britain hope to kick-start a huge 2020 with a host of golds at the Track World Championships.

The pair have ten Olympic golds between them and will hope to add to that tally in Tokyo this summer.

It will be the final opportunity for cyclists, including fellow Olympic champions Elinor Barker and Ed Clancy, to score qualifying points ahead of the Games.

Barker, a four-time world champion, said: "I'm really happy to be selected to represent Great Britain at the final world championships before the Olympic Games and have the opportunity to compete for more rainbow jerseys.

“Training has been going well, and it feels like everything is starting to come together for the team now so I'm excited to see how my teammates and I get on in Berlin."

Barker and Laura Kenny are among six names selected for the women’s endurance event at Berlin’s Velodrome.

Katie Archibald makes Britain’s three-piece women’s sprint team with Lauren Bate and Sophie Capewell, while Jason Kenny is part of a four-man men’s sprint team and Clancy is one of seven men in the British men’s endurance squad.

Stephen Park, the performance director at British Cycling, said: "The world championships in Berlin mark an important milestone on the path to the Olympic Games for the track cyclists and our focus now is on those riders who we believe have the potential to win a medal in Tokyo.

"The bar in track cycling is continuously being raised, which is great for keeping the sport healthy, but also means the fight for every medal is much tougher so Berlin will be interesting.

"It's also a good opportunity for our riders to show the selectors what they're capable of and to help stake their claim on a place within the Olympic squad.”

Men's Endurance

Ed Clancy Kian Emadi Ethan Hayter Mark Stewart Charlie Tanfield Matt Walls Ollie Wood

Women's Endurance

Katie Archibald Elinor Barker Eleanor Dickinson Neah Evans Laura Kenny Josie Knight

Men's Sprint

Jack Carlin Phil Hindes Jason Kenny Ryan Owens

Women's Sprint

Lauren Bate Sophie Capewell Katy Marchant