Hockey star Kate Walsh named as member of the EOC AC

On the 5th October 2013 in Porec, Croatia, the election for the EOC Athlete Commission took place for the fourth time since the creation of the Commission, with Great Britain’s very own Kate Walsh being named as one of the select few.

Formed in 2001, the EOC Athletes’ Commission is responsible for making sure the “athlete’s voice” forms a fundamental part in the decision making processes within the EOC. By carefully selecting a specific handful of sporting experts and past Olympians, the Commission ensures that athlete’s rights are respected throughout the Olympic movement, and that athlete perspectives form an important part of the decision making within the organisation.

Walsh captained our Team GB to a triumphant bronze medal at the London 2012 Olympic Games; the first Olympic medal won by a British Hockey team in 20 years.

Kate Walsh:

The Athletes’ Commission is composed of 10 members; six summer sport athletes who have participated in previous Olympic Summer Games and two winter sport athletes who have participated in previous Winter Olympic Games. The Executive Committee reserves the right to nominate 2 athletes to the commission.

The new members include:


Mr Jean Michel Saive, table tennis, Belguim

Ms Kate Walsh, field hockey, GB

Mr Daniel Gyurta, Swimming, Hungary

Ms Alessandra Sensini, Sailing (windsurfing), Italy

Ms Tatiana Lenedeva, Athletics (long jump), Russia

Ms Natalia Dobrynska, Athletics (heptathlon), Ukraine


Mr Mikko Ronkainen, Freestyle skiing. Finland

Ms Luiza Zlotkowska, Speed Skating, Poland.