Crutchley names unchanged squad for EuroHockey Championships

After securing qualification for next year’s World Cup, England men’s hockey head coach Bobby Crutchley is aiming to maintain their momentum in August’s EuroHockey Championships.

Crutchley’s men made the final four of the recent Hockey World League semi-final, held at the Lee Valley Hockey and Tennis Centre, and in doing so booked their place at next year’s showpiece tournament.

But he does not want his side to rest on their laurels in the Netherlands, as they go in search of the trophy they last won in 2009.

“We are really looking forward to the EuroHockey Championships which will be a tough tournament playing against a number of teams who can win it,” said Crutchley.

“After our performances at the World League Semi-Finals in London we are excited to build on this beginning with a return to match action in Spain against three strong sides.

“This will provide good preparation ahead of what should be an exciting tournament.”

England, who will be led by the captaincy trio of George Pinner, Phil Roper and Ian Sloan, have named an 18-strong squad for the tournament.

Preparations will begin with Four-Nations Commemorative Tournament in Spain, where they will play the Netherlands, Germany and the hosts.

The squad shows no changes to the one that lost to the Netherlands in the last four of the World League semi-final, with James Gall and Luke Taylor travelling to Spain as extras.

The EuroHockey Championships run from August 19-27 in the Wagener Stadium, Amsterdam, with England facing Poland, Germany and Ireland in their Pool B encounters.

Full squad:

1. David Ames

2. David Condon

3. Brendan Creed

4. Adam Dixon

5. Harry Gibson (GK)

6. Mark Gleghorne

7. David Goodfield

8. Chris Griffiths

9. Michael Hoare

10. Harry Martin

11. Barry Middleton

12.George Pinner (GK)

13. Phil Roper

14. Liam Sanford

15. Ian Sloan

16. Sam Ward

17. Henry Weir

18 Ollie Willars

The extra two athletes travelling to the Four Nations in Spain:

1. James Gall

Sportsbeat 2017