British Olympic Association confirm appointees for Athletes’ Commission

Six athletes have been appointed onto the British Olympic Association’s (BOA) Athletes’ Commission after voting closed on the election of new members.

Abbie Brown (Rugby Sevens), Andrew Matthews (Bobsleigh), Eve Muirhead (Curling) and Bryony Page (Trampoline) will all join the Commission for the first time in 2022 whilst Adam Gemili (Athletics) and Lizzy Yarnold (Skeleton) have been re-elected for a second term.

In total, over 600 athletes voted in the election, with eligibility given to any athlete who has competed for Team GB in the last 13 years, or those who are Team GB Gold Club members.

Of the existing Commission, six members’ terms have drawn to a close this December with two of these athletes – Gemili and Yarnold – standing for re-election. Katherine Grainger, James Rodwell and Joanna Rowsell Shand’s terms all come to a close at the end of 2021, whilst Lizzie Simmonds replaces Ben Hawes as the new Athletes’ Commission Chair following a vote earlier this year.

Incoming Athletes’ Commission Chair Lizzie Simmonds said:

“After a successful election process, I am delighted to welcome four new members to the Commission and to see Adam and Lizzy return for a second term each. It is an honour to have the opportunity to work with such talented and passionate individuals and I am excited to continue our role representing the Team GB athlete community.

“A huge thank you to the members leaving the group at the end of the year - their insights and contributions have been invaluable, and it has been a privilege to serve alongside them.

“I would like to extend a special thanks to Ben who has been a member of the Commission since its inception in 2010, and the group’s Chair since 2014. Ben’s leadership and commitment has been exemplary throughout, and he continues to be a true ambassador for Team GB athletes and British Olympic sport. I look forward to building on Ben’s success throughout my term as Chair.”

Eve Muirhead: “I am delighted to have been voted in as a new member for the British Olympic Association Athletes’ Commission. Thank you very much to all those that voted and I look forward to getting involved with the Commission.”

Lizzy Yarnold: “I'm excited to be working with the Athletes’ Commission at the BOA again. Thank you to all who took the time to vote. I can't wait to begin working with the other newly voted members, as we work with the BOA towards Beijing in just a few months’ time, and Paris in 2024.”

Bryony Page: “I feel incredibly proud to be elected to the BOA Athletes’ Commission and join this group of Olympians, who are such an inspiration to me. I’m excited to work with the team on our shared aspiration in making positive impacts on our fellow athletes’ experiences inside and outside of sport.”

Adam Gemili: “I’m extremely grateful to have been re-elected to the Athletes’ Commission. I am excited for the continued opportunity to work with the rest of the Commission to help athletes. Thank you to my fellow athletes who have trusted me again for this role. I will do all I can to ensure the best for us” 

Andrew Matthews: “I'm excited to be part of the Athletes’ Commission and I am looking forward to representing all my fellow athletes on this amazing journey. “The time is fast approaching for our Winter Olympic hopefuls to take the stage so I hope preparations are going well and I can't wait to watch some amazing performances.”

Abbie Brown: “Firstly, I just want to thank everyone who voted for me, I really do appreciate the support! I’m very honoured and excited to be part of this group of athletes to hopefully support and drives changes for the Olympics in the coming years.”

BOA’s Athletes’ Commission:

Chair: Lizzie Simmonds (Swimming)

EOC Athletes’ Commission representative: Alistair Brownlee (Triathlon)

Eric Boateng (Basketball)

Abbie Brown (Rugby Sevens)

Aimee Fuller (Snowboard)

Adam Gemili (Athletics)

Andrew Matthews (Bobsleigh)

Eve Muirhead (Curling)

Bryony Page (Trampoline)

Liam Tancock (Swimming)

Kristian Thomas (Artistic Gymnastics)

Georgie Twigg (Hockey)

Lizzy Yarnold (Skeleton)

About The British Olympic Association:

The British Olympic Association (BOA) Athletes’ Commission is a Committee of the BOA Board created to bring the perspective and expertise of athletes to the many initiatives and programmes operated by the BOA. It was formed in 2010 and meets every two months.

The Commission is made up of a mixture of past and present athletes from team and individual, summer and winter sports. The Chair is responsible for feeding the views of the Commission back to the BOA Board. The Chair and Vice-Chair are also athlete representatives on the BOA’s National Olympic Committee (NOC).