Grainger and Thornley to race women's double in Rio
Road to Rio

Grainger and Thornley to race women's double in Rio

26 June 2016 / 13:59

Rowers Victoria Thornley and Katherine Grainger race in the women's double scull this summer after being added to the rowing squad for the Rio 2016 Olympic Games.

Grainger is Team GB’s most decorated female Olympian with three silver medals from Sydney 2000, Athens 2004 and Beijing 2008 and gold from London 2012 to her name. She will be competing in her fifth Olympic Games in Rio and is the defending Olympic Champion In the double scull.

Thornley raced in the women’s eight in London on her debut Games. This crew qualified for the Olympic final and finished fifth overall. Thornley was also a World bronze medallist in the eight in 2011 and a European bronze medallist, with Grainger, in the double scull in 2015.

This season the crew have reached the final of both the European Championships and the most recent World Cup in Poznan, Poland.

Earlier this week Alan Sinclair and Stewart Innes were confirmed as the men’s pair and Sam Scrimgeour was named as the lightweight men’s spare. These two recent selections now bring the tally of named rowers to 46 from 47 places.

The selected athletes are:

Men’s Four

Alex Gregory

Mohammed Sbihi

George Nash

Constantine Louloudis

Men’s Single

Alan Campbell

Men’s Double

Jonathan Walton

John Collins

Men’s Quad

Peter Lambert

Sam Townsend

Angus Groom

Graeme Thomas

Men’s Pair

Alan Sinclair

Stewart Innes

Eight, 2 Spares from:

Paul Bennett

Scott Durant

Matt Gotrel

Andrew T Hodge

Matt Langridge

Tom Ransley

Pete Reed

Nathaniel Reilly-O’Donnell

William Satch

Matthew Tarrant

Cox of Men’s Eight

Phelan Hill

Women’s Pair

Helen Glover

Heather Stanning

Women’s Eight

Katie Greves

Melanie Wilson

Frances Houghton

Polly Swann

Jessica Eddie

Olivia Carnegie-Brown

Karen Bennett

Zoe Lee

Cox of Women’s Eight

Zoe de Toledo

Women’s double

Victoria Thornley

Katheirne Grainger

Men’s Lightweight Four

Chris Bartley

Mark Aldred

Jono Clegg

Peter Chambers

Men’s Lightweight Double Scull

Will Fletcher

Richard Chambers

Women’s Lightweight Double Scull

Charlotte Taylor

Katherine Copeland

Lighweight men’s spare

Sam Scrimgeour