The British Olympic Association (BOA) Athletes’ Commission is a Committee of the BOA Board which that has been created to bring the perspective and expertise of athletes to the many initiatives and programmes operated by the BOA. The Commission ensures that the athletes’ voice is at the heart of everything the BOA does.  It was formed in 2010 and meets every 2 months. As Chair Sarah Winckless is responsible for feeding the views of the Commission back to the BOA Board, of which she is a member.

Chair of the BOA Athletes’ Commission

We are currently recruiting for the position of Chair of the BOA Athletes’ Commission for the next term of four years. This is a paid role for approximately 30 days per year from January 2015 to December 2018.  Athletes who have competed for Team GB at an Olympic Games since Turin 2006 are eligible to apply.  Please contact for the job description.  The closing date for applications is 25 August 2014 and interviews will take place on 11th September 2014 in London.

Members of the BOA Athletes’ Commission

Six current members of the Athletes’ Commission will complete their terms in December 2014 so we are now looking for candidates to continue and build upon their excellent work for the next four year term.

These are voluntary positions that will require around 8 half-days per year from January 2015 to December 2018.

Candidates must have competed for Team GB at an Olympic Games or Olympic Winter Games within the past twelve years (no earlier than Salt Lake City 2002).

We are looking for athletes who:

  • Can help the BOA provide better services and support  to athletes during competition and at the crucial time once they finish in sport
  • Are interested in Olympic sport and can help Team GB in its exciting journey towards Rio 2016 and PyeongChang 2018
  • Can represent the views and interests of other athletes
  • Are great communicators and willing to challenge

Further information can be found here and an application form can be found here. Please contact Christine Bower, Athlete Services Co-ordinator, with any questions via The deadline for applications is 12th September 2014. Members will be elected by athletes via online voting in October. 

The current members of the Commission are:

  1. Adam Pengilly (IOC Athletes’ Commission) – Skeleton

  2. Ben Hawes – Hockey

  3. James Cracknell – Rowing

  4. Goldie Sayers – Athletics

  5. Henry Nwume – Bobsleigh

  6. Jackie Lockheart – Curling           

  7. Heather Fell – Modern Pentathlon

  8. Karen Pickering – Swimming

  9. Christian Malcolm – Athletics

  10. Katherine Grainger – Rowing

  11. Leon Taylor – Diving

  12. Sarah Gosling – Sailing

  13. Kate Walsh – Hockey