Rugby Sevens

Sport Rugby Sevens

About Rugby Sevens

Rugby sevens will make its Olympic debut at the Rio 2016 Olympic Games following a decision to introduce the sport at the 121st IOC session in 2009.
The popular seven-a-side version of rugby union attracts vast global audiences and made its first multi-sport Games appearance at the 2014 Commonwealth Games in Glasgow.
Team GB will be represented in both the men’s and women’s events at Rio after the England secured quota places for Team GB during the respective 2014/15 World Sevens Series.
Although rugby sevens features in the Olympic Games for the first time in Rio, rugby union was part of the programme in the early 20th Century. The 15-a-side version of the sport has featured in four Olympic Games, beginning with Paris 1900 before concluding its time in the programme in the same city 24 years later.
The USA were the most successful nation during this time, winning gold medals at both Antwerp 1920 and Paris 1924 while Team GB won two silver medals over the period, at Paris 1900 and London 1908.

Medal Record

Medal Total

0 3 0

Medal List