Rutherford gets time as Farah and Ennis-Hill head GB team

16 July 2013 / 12:38

Olympic champions Mo Farah and Jessica Ennis-Hill head up Britain’s 60-strong team for next month’s World Championships while Greg Rutherford is given extra time to earn his place.

Farah, who won the 10,000m and 5,000m double at London 2012, receives an automatic place in the latter as the defending champion and will attempt to become the first Briton to retain a global title in Moscow.

He runs both again while Ennis-Hill is selected despite having yet to complete a heptathlon this summer with her only outing coming in the javelin in Leeds in April as she struggles with injury.

Meanwhile Olympic long jump champion Rutherford, struggling himself with a hamstring problem, will learn his fate on July 30 after UKA performance director Neil Black opted to use his discretion on athlete selection in the event.

Neither Rutherford nor recently crowned British champion Chris Tomlinson, who was sixth at London 2012, have jumped the 8.25m A standard this season but now still have time to.

Olympic gold and silver medallist Christine Ohuruogu will look to regain the 400m title she won in Osaka in 2007 and is joined on the 4x400m relay squad by younger sister Victoria.

Olympic bronze medallist Robbie Grabarz is automatically selected courtesy of his 2012 Diamond League victory as is Dai Greene as the defending 400m hurdles world champion.

Harry Aikines-Aryeetey joins 9.91-second sprinter James Dasaolu and Dwain Chambers in running the 100m while Adam Gemili goes in the 200m.

And performance director Black said: “The team selected for GB & NI are a mix of defending champions, potential medallists, finalists and some really exciting young talents that we seen as future medallists.

“Last weekend’s Sainsbury’s British Championships was a brilliant stage for the world trials, and we saw some world class performances. It gave the selectors a real opportunity to see the athletes in championship mode and we were not disappointed.

“A year on from the Games and it is great to look forward to Moscow with the selected team, as we take our first steps in the build up towards Rio 2016 and London 2017.”

British team


100m: Harry Aikines-Aryeetey (Rana Reider); Dwain Chambers (Reider); James Dasaolu (Steve Fudge); 200m: James Ellington (Reider); Adam Gemili (Michael Afilaka); Delano Williams (Neil Harrison); 400m: Nigel Levine (Linford Christie); 800m: Andrew Osagie (Craig Winrow); Michael Rimmer (Norman Poole); 1500m: Chris O’Hare (Steve Gulley); 5000m: Mo Farah (Alberto Salazar); 10,000m: Farah (Salazar); 110mH: William Sharman (Jerzy Maciukiewicz); 400mH: Dai Greene (Malcolm Arnold); Sebastian Rodger (Stephen King); Rhys Williams (Adrian Thomas); 3000mSC: James Wilkinson (Philip Townsend); Long Jump: TBA; High Jump: Robbie Grabarz (Fayyaz Ahmed); Pole Vault: Steve Lewis (Dan Pfaff); Discus Throw: Brett Morse (Andy Brittan); Decathlon: Ashley Bryant (Ian Grant); 4x100m: Aikines Aryeetey (Reider); Chambers (Reider); Dasaolu (Fudge); Ellington (Reider); Gemili (Afilaka); Richard Kilty (Christie) Andrew Robertson (Daniel Cossins); Deji Tobais (Jonas Tawiah Dodoo); 4x400m: Michael Bingham (George Williams); Jamie Bowie (Piotr Haczek); Luke Lennon Ford (Christie); Levine (Christie); Martyn Rooney (Reider); Conrad Williams (Christie); Delano Williams (Harrison)


100m: Asha Philip (Christine Bowmaker); 200m: Anyika Onuora (Reider); Jodie Williams (Stanley Madiri); 400m: Christine Ohuruogu (Lloyd Cowan); 800m: Jessica Judd (Rob Denmark); Laura Muir (Andy Young); Marilyn Okoro (Johnny Gray); 1500m: Hannah England (Bud Baldaro); Laura Weightman (Steve Cram); 100mH: Tiffany Porter (Reider); 400mH: Meghan Beesley (Nick Dakin); Eilidh Child (Arnold); Perri Shakes Drayton (Chris Zah); 3000mSC: Eilish McColgan (Liz McColgan); Long Jump: Shara Proctor (Reider); Lorraine Ugen (Frank Attoh); Hammer Throw: Sophie Hitchon (Tore Gustafsson); Heptathlon: Jessica Ennis-Hill (Toni Minichiello); Katarina Johnson-Thompson (Mike Holmes); Marathon (Selected in April) Sonia Samuels (Nick Samuels); Susan Partridge (Steve Jones) 4x100m: Philip (Bowmaker), Hayley Jones (Donald Moss), Annabelle Lewis (Roger Walters), Ashleigh Nelson (Afilaka), Bianca Williams (Cowan), Dina Asher Smith (John Blackie); Williams (Madiri);  4x400m: Margaret Adeoye (Christie), Child (Arnold); Shana Cox (George Williams), Kirsten McAslan (Trevor Painter), Kelly Massey (Stephen Ball), Christine Ohuruogu (Cowan), Victoria Ohuruogu (Cowan) Onuora (Reider); Shakes Drayton (Zah).

© Sportsbeat 2013