Peaty crowned European Men's Swimmer of the Year for third time

Peaty crowned European Men's Swimmer of the Year for third time

10 January 2020 / 10:13
History-making swimming sensation Adam Peaty praised his backroom team after being crowned LEN European Men's Swimmer of the Year for the third time.

The 25-year-old has been recognised for a memorable 2019 season in which he claimed three gold medals at the World Championships in South Korea – taking his tally of world titles to eight.

The reigning Olympic, World, European and Commonwealth champion defended his 50m and 100m breaststroke double in Gwangju in July before helping to men’s 4x100m relay to victory.

He also became the first person in history to go under 57 seconds for the 100m breaststroke, clocking 56.88s in the Worlds 100m semi-finals to beat his own personal best.

“I'm incredibly honoured to receive such a prestigious award, especially with other athletes such as Kristóf Milák breaking down barriers that we thought were impossible,” he said. 

“It shows that the sport is growing in the right direction and it’s amazing to be headlining that right now.

“As always though it’s down to my irreplaceable team that help me get these results and I want to thank everyone for such commitment and dedication to what I do.”

Peaty, who received 45.8 per cent of the vote, has won the title twice before – first being recognised in 2016 after his maiden Olympic triumph and a quartet of European crowns.

The following year he received the award again after winning two individual gold medals and a relay silver at the World Championships in Budapest.

Elsewhere, Hungary’s Katinka Hosszu was named 2019 European Women’s Swimmer of the Year, while Russian pair Aleksandar Bondar and Ekaterina Beliaeve took the diving titles.

Brit Jack Laugher, who won the men’s diving award in 2016 and 2018, was second in the voting this time around after winning World silver with Dan Goodfellow in the 3m synchronised.

He also clinched bronze in the 3m springboard in Gwangju and won gold medals in the same event at the World Series events in London and Kazan.

British Swimming’s other previous winners of LEN’s annual European crowns include Tom Daley (2009, 2015, 2017), Rebecca Adlington (2008) and Keri-Ann Payne (2011).

Sportsbeat 2020