Olympic sailing line-up finalised

09 May 2012 / 20:39

Great Britain's sailing line-up for London 2012 has been completed with the announcement of the final three sailor selections.

The British Olympic Association has confirmed the Royal Yachting Association's nominations of Stevie Morrison and Ben Rhodes - veterans of the 2008 Games - in the 49er class, while Alison Young will make her Olympic debut in the Laser Radial event. Helena Lucas joins the ParalympicsGB ranks in the one-person 2.4mR event and completes the Games line-up.

RYA Olympic manager and sailing team leader Stephen Park is delighted by the calibre of sailors at his disposal and is confident of a successful summer.

"Performances over the past 12 months have been particularly good," he told Press Association Sport. "We have an incredibly competitive team and we have a team now able to win medals at 2012.

"All of the work in the background is looking good and we look to be in a strong position. We're going to have to be in the strongest position for the most competitive event of our lives because there is absolutely no doubt that every other country is trying to win those medals.

"It is more competitive than ever in the world of Olympic sailing and we'll have to give our best in every aspect of our game if we really want to hit our targets and bring home some medals for Britain."

He added: "As we go into the Games, I can honestly say hand on heart that we've got people who've got potential to medal in every single event. We've never had that before. That doesn't mean to say that we'll medal in every event - far from it - but in terms of preparing a good team, the sailors have done an incredible job to date."

The four sailors are the final additions to the British team for the Olympics and Paralympics. Three-time Olympic gold medallist Ben Ainslie will represent TeamGB in the Finn class, Paul Goodison will be the Laser representative and Iain Percy and Andrew Simpson will race in the Star class.

Nick Dempsey and Bryony Shaw are the selections for the male and female RS:X events respectively, while Luke Patience and Stuart Bithell team up for men's 470. Hannah Mills and Saskia Clark are the women's 470 representatives, while Lucy Macgregor, Annie Lush and Kate Macgregor will compete in the women's match racing event.

Alexandra Rickham and Niki Birrell will represent ParalympicsGB in the SKUD class, while John Robertson, Hannah Stodel and Steve Thomas have been chosen for the Sonar event.