Murray to begin Wimbledon defence against Goffin

20 June 2014 / 14:02

Andy Murray will begin the defence of his Wimbledon crown on Centre Court against Belgian David Goffin when the All England Club opens its gates on Monday.

The 27-year-old, who ended Britain’s 77-year wait for a men’s champion last year with a straight sets victory over Novak Djokovic, will play the world No.104 for the first time in his career.

Murray’s preparations for this year tournament suffered a setback last week when he exited Queen’s at the third-round stage, losing to Radek Stepanek in straight sets.  

But an encouraging run to the semi-finals of the French Open just prior to that – only the second time Murray has reached the last four in Paris – will leave him optimistic of defending his title at SW19.

Wimbledon was also the scene of Murray’s singles triumph at the London 2012 Olympics – that day the Scot defeated Roger Federer to win gold.

In being seeded third for this year’s tournament Murray theoretically won’t have to face Rafael Nadal, who recently won his ninth French Open title and beat him in the semi-finals, until the final after the pair were placed in opposing sides of the draw.    

Meanwhile fellow Brit Dan Evans faces a first-round encounter with Russian Andrey Kuznetsov while James Ward will face off against another in the form of Mikhail Youzhny.

Dan Cox will face the Frenchman Jeremy Chardy with Kyle Edmund up against Austria’s Andreas Haider-Maurer and Daniel Smethurst facing a tough task against the big-serving American John Isner.  

With Laura Robson out injured, Heather Watson will lead Britain’s hopes in the women’s draw and she will face Croatia’s Ajla Tomljanovic in round one.

Johanna Konta, the only other British female to gain automatic qualifying for the main draw, will take on Peng Shuai of China.

And completing the British interest Tara Moore will play Vera Zvonareva, Naomi Broady takes on Timea Babos and Samantha Murray takes on the recent French Open champion Maria Sharapova.  

© Sportsbeat 2014