Hindes handed place in GB cycling squad

24 February 2012 / 15:23

German-born Philip Hindes has been included in Great Britain's squad for April's Track Cycling World Championships in Melbourne, British Cycling have announced.

Hindes has been included in the men's sprint squad as Britain seek to resolve the dilemma surrounding the team sprint, with Ross Edgar omitted from the team following last weekend's Track World Cup event in London.

British Cycling performance director Dave Brailsford said: "We have selected a very similar team to travel to the World Championships; the only difference is in the men's sprint squad.

"In London, Ross Edgar was in the early stages of recovering from an injury and we think the best option for him now is to focus his training in the gym and on the road over the next few months, and as such he won't travel to Australia - this doesn't mean we have ruled him out of selection for the Olympic Games.

"The sprint coaches also feel that Philip Hindes has shown great potential in training and therefore it would be good for his development to shadow the World Championships team this year."

Hindes, who specialises in the man one role, is likely to travel for experience as a reserve behind Jason Kenny, Sir Chris Hoy and Matt Crampton.

Laura Trott is set to travel to Melbourne to defend Britain's team pursuit world title as part of the same squad which won gold in the Track World Cup in a world-record time. Wendy Houvenaghel, Dani King and Joanna Rowsell have also been selected.

The men's endurance group is comprised of Steven Burke, Ed Clancy, Pete Kennaugh, Ben Swift and Geraint Thomas, while the world record-breaking pair of Victoria Pendleton and Jess Varnish have been named for the women's sprint disciplines.

British Cycling team for the Track Cycling World Championships, April 4 to 8, Melbourne, Australia:

Sprint: Matt Crampton, Philip Hindes, Sir Chris Hoy, Jason Kenny, Victoria Pendleton, Jess Varnish; Men's endurance: Steven Burke, Ed Clancy, Pete Kennaugh, Ben Swift, Geraint Thomas; Women's endurance: Wendy Houvenaghel, Dani King, Joanna Rowsell, Laura Trott.

Copyright (c) Press Association Ltd. 2012, All Rights Reserved.