Froome one of ten Brits in 2015 Tour de France line-up

29 June 2015 / 10:14

Great Britain will be represented by a record-equalling number of riders at this year’s Tour de France with Chris Froome leading the charge for a first home nations winner since 2013.

Team Sky rider Froome, victorious in the world famous race two years ago, is one of ten Brits announced for this year’s edition which gets underway in Utrecht on Saturday and runs until July 26.

That number equals the record for the biggest British contingent in the Tour set in 1955, while it is a significant improvement on the four Britons who started the 2014 race in Yorkshire.

Just one rider, Geraint Thomas, finished the race last year with Mark Cavendish crashing out in Harrogate, Froome also later withdrawing with injury while Simon Yates also retired mid race.

Froome has already tasted success this year however, winning the recent Criterium du Dauphine, and the 30-year-old Olympic time trial bronze medallist admitted he can’t wait to get back out and challenge for the yellow jersey.

"Last year’s disappointment is this year’s motivation for Team Sky. From the moment I crashed out in 2014 I’ve had the burning desire to get back to this year’s Tour in the best possible shape,” said Froome, who is joined in Team Sky by fellow Brits Geraint Thomas, Ian Stannard, Luke Rowe and newly-crowned British champion Peter Kennaugh.

"I’m ready and I’m fortunate to have a strong team around me selected to meet the many different challenges of this year’s race – from the cobbles to the climbs. 

"There’s a great spirit in the group and we’re ready to give our best for every kilometre of every day over the three weeks of the Tour. 

"We’re counting down the days. We can’t wait to get started and we are up for the challenge ahead."

Elsewhere, Alex Dowsett, British time trial champion for a record-equalling fourth time last week, rides for Movistar while twins Adam and Simon Yates will pull on the Orica GreenEdge colours with Steve Cummings riding for MTN-Qhubeka.

Sprint king and Etixx-Quick-Step rider Cavendish meanwhile will be looking to add to his 25 stage wins and green jersey he won in 2011. 

© Sportsbeat 2015