British Cycling name World Championships team

06 February 2013 / 13:19

British Cycling have named six London 2012 gold medallists among their team of 16 riders for the forthcoming World Championships in Minsk, with Sir Dave Brailsford aiming to start the next Olympic cycle in the best possible fashion.

Jason Kenny, Phil Hindes, Ed Clancy, Steve Burke, Dani King and Laura Trott will all make the trip to Belarus at the end of February.

The event also marks Clancy’s return to the endurance squad, having ridden in the team sprint event at the Glasgow World Cup.

While experience is bristling in Britain’s ranks, it’s the next generation that excites performance director Brailsford.

Youngsters Kian Emadi, Vicky Williamson, Jon Dibben, Owain Doull, Simon Yates and Elinor Barker will all make their World Championship debut and Brailsford believes it’s the perfect breeding ground ahead of Rio 2016.

“The first year of an Olympic cycle is always an interesting one,” said Brailsford.

“It gives the opportunity for our young riders to compete alongside the world’s best and experience the competitive environment which is crucial for their development.

“With that in mind, the focus for the team is to perform to the best of their ability as the route to Rio firmly begins.”



Matt Crampton

Kian Emadi

Becky James

Jason Kenny

Phil Hindes

Vicky Williamson


Men’s Endurance

Steven Burke

Ed Clancy

Jon Dibben

Owain Doull

Sam Harrison

Andy Tennant

Simon Yates


Women’s Endurance

Elinor Barker

Dani King

Laura Trott


© Sportsbeat 2013