'Retiring' Wiggins named in British Cycling Podium Team for 2017
Cycling Track

'Retiring' Wiggins named in British Cycling Podium Team for 2017

01 December 2016 / 14:13

British Cycling has hinted that Sir Bradley Wiggins may not be ready to hang up his cleats just yet after naming the five-time Olympic champion in their Olympic Podium Programme.

Wiggins, who in 2012 became the first British cyclist to win the Tour de France, had been expected to retire from the sport after last month’s Ghent Six Day but after being named in the men’s endurance squad for 2017, it appears we may not yet have seen the last of the 36-year-old.

Elsewhere in the 45-strong squad, Dani King – who won team pursuit Olympic gold at London 2012 – returns to the team despite missing out on Rio 2016, as does fellow road rider Nikki Brammeier who played a pivotal supporting role at this summer’s Games.

In the men’s road squad, Mark Cavendish is joined by Chris Froome, Owain Doull and Geraint Thomas, with Lizzie Deignan headlining the women’s equivalent alongside King and Brammeier.

The men’s track endurance squad sees Ed Clancy, Steven Burke and Chris Latham named alongside Wiggins, while reigning Olympic team pursuit champions Laura Kenny, Katie Archibald, Elinor Barker and Jo Rowsell Shand are retained in the women’s.

This summer’s victorious men’s sprint team of Phil Hindes, Jason Kenny and Callum Skinner are joined by Ryan Owens, one of six riders to graduate from the Senior Academy Programme, with double silver medallist Becky James and Katy Marchant remaining with the women’s team.

Programme director Andy Harrison said: “In a year which has seen some fantastic performances from the Great Britain Cycling Team, the bar for programme membership remains high and we have a very strong Podium Programme squad to lead us into the next Olympic cycle.

women's team pursuit

“In particular, I’m pleased to see the strength and depth we have within the women’s road squad which has been bolstered by the additions of Dani King, Nikki Brammeier and former mountain biker Alice Barnes which paints a very different picture to where we were with this squad a couple of years ago.

“I’m also very happy with the pathway progression of the six academy riders who have stepped up from Senior Academy level and already we’re seeing great results from the track riders.

“Throughout the pathway system we have some incredibly talented riders and we are confident of continuing our success in the coming years.”



Kyle Evans
Liam Phillips
Tre Whyte

Mountain bike

Grant Ferguson

Men’s road

Mark Cavendish
Steve Cummings
Jon Dibben
Owain Doull
Alex Dowsett
Andrew Fenn
Chris Froome
Luke Rowe
Ian Stannard
Ben Swift
Simon Yates
Adam Yates
Peter Kennaugh
Geraint Thomas 

Women’s road

Lizzie Deignan
Alice Barnes
Hannah Barnes
Nikki Brammeier
Dani King

Men’s track endurance

Steve Burke
Ed Clancy
Kian Emadi
Chris Latham
Mark Stewart
Andy Tennant
Sir Bradley Wiggins
Oliver Wood

Women’s track endurance

Katie Archibald
Elinor Barker
Emily Kay
Danni Khan
Joanna Rowsell Shand
Laura Kenny

Men’s track sprint

Phil Hindes
Jason Kenny
Ryan Owens
Callum Skinner

Women’s track sprint

Becky James
Katy Marchant
Victoria Williamson
Shanaze Reade

Sportsbeat 2016

Join Team GB Club today, check it out right here