British Cycling name strong World Cup team for London return

British Cycling technical director Shane Sutton admits his team will be looking to draw on valuable home support when they return to London’s Lee Valley VeloPark for the second leg of the Track Cycling World Cup.

The Great Britain Cycling team enjoyed a successful first outing in Mexico earlier this month, placing second on the medal table behind Australia with two gold and two silver medals.

Triple Olympic champion Jason Kenny was among the winners, claiming team sprint gold and finishing second in the men’s individual sprint.

And he is named as part of the 18-strong team who will return to the London 2012 cycling venue for the next World Cup from December 5-7.

As well as Kenny, the strong Great Britain will also feature five other cyclists who were crowned Olympic champions in 2012, with Phil Hindes, Steve Burke, Ed Clancy, Joanna Rowsell and Laura Trott all looking to taste success again.

And Sutton believes the home crowd can again play a role as the team looks to pick up further qualification points towards Rio 2016.

“We set ourselves in good stead at the Mexico round of the World Cup with some solid performances across the board and we’re entering a similar strength team in London with the aim of continuing the momentum and gaining valuable Olympic qualification points early on,” he said.

“The home round of the World Cup series is a competition the whole team looks forward to and the fact that this event is taking place in the Lee Valley VeloPark makes this event extra special for us.

“The crowd support during London 2012 was phenomenal and gave the team a huge lift so hopefully the public will get behind us once again and support us on our journey to Rio.”

Men’s Sprint: Matt Crampton, Phil Hindes, Jason Kenny, Callum Skinner

Women’s Sprint: Danni Khan, Jess Varnish, Vicky Williamson

Men’s Endurance: Steve Burke, Mark Christian, Ed Clancy, Jon Dibben, Owain Doull, Andy Tennant

Women’s Endurance: Katie Archibald, Elinor Barker, Ciara Horne, Joanna Rowsell, Laura Trott

© Sportsbeat 2014