Alistair Brownlee elected to the European Olympic Committee Athletes’ Commission

Double Olympic Champion Alistair Brownlee is named as a newly elected member of the European Olympic Committee (EOC) Athletes’ Commission.

Two-time Olympic Champion Alistair Brownlee, MBE, has been elected to the European Olympic Committees (EOC) Athletes’ Commission at the 6th Assembly of the European Athletes in Dubrovnik, Croatia. 

Brownlee was successful in securing one of six positions for summer sport athletes, and adds a further British presence to the EOC following the recent election of the BOA’s Vice-Chair Annamarie Phelps to the EOC Executive Committee.

Formed in 2001, the EOC Athletes’ Commission is responsible for making sure the “athlete’s voice” forms a fundamental part in the decision-making processes within the EOC.

Through his appointment on the EOC Athletes’ Commission, Brownlee will also join the British Olympic Association’s (BOA) Athletes’ Commission.

Brownlee said: ““I’m honoured to be elected onto the EOC athletes’ commission. I’d like to thank the Athletes’ Commissions of Europe for putting their faith in me and the BOA Athletes’ Commission for their support. I’m looking forward to working hard to represent Europe’s Olympic athletes.”

BOA Chair, Sir Hugh Robertson, welcomed the news saying: “Alastair will bring the same commitment and excellence to his role on the EOC Athletes’ Commission that he brought to his career as an athlete. He is an outstanding person and I am delighted that such a strong, informed and considered voice is joining the EOC to represent the athletes.”

BOA Athletes’ Commission Chair, Ben Hawes said: “Congratulations to Alistair on his appointment to the EOC Athletes’ Commission. As a double Olympic Champion Alistair made a huge contribution to Team GB and the Olympic movement and I have no doubt he will be an exceptional representative for the EOC in ensuring that athletes voices from around Europe are heard and recognised.

The EOC Athletes’ Commission is composed of 10 members; six summer sport athletes who have participated in previous Olympic Summer Games and two winter sport athletes who have participated in previous Winter Olympic Games. The Executive Committee reserves the right to nominate two athletes to the commission.

The new members include:


Ms. Gwladys EPANGUE (France) - Taekwondo

Ms. Blanka VLASIC (Croatia) - Athletics

Mr. Alistair BROWNLEE (Great Britain) - Triathlon

Ms. Alexandra LONGOVA (Slovakia) - Archery

Mr. Gerd KANTER (Estonia) - Athletics

Mr. Pavlos KAGIALOS (Greece) - Sailing


Mr. Jonathan GUERREIRO (Russia) - Figure Skating

Mr. Viktor KNOCH (Hungary) - Short Track