Team Announcement: Meet the rowers heading to Rio 2016!
Road to Rio

Team Announcement: Meet the rowers heading to Rio 2016!

09 June 2016 / 13:44

Team GB have today announced 43 of the 47 rowers who will compete at this summer’s Rio 2016 Olympic Games.

Olympic Champions Helen Glover and Heather Stanning return to defend their title in the women’s pair while Alex Gregory will also look to defend his men’s four gold from London 2012 – this time alongside Mohamed Sbihi, George Nash and Constantine Louloudis. Sbihi, Nash and Louloudis were all 2012 bronze medallists.

Olympic lightweight women’s double scull champion Katherine Copeland will seek to defend her crown in Rio alongside Olympic debutante Charlotte Taylor. Both were World Championship silver medallists last year.

The equivalent lightweight men’s double scull will feature London 2012 lightweight men’s four silver medallist Richard Chambers with another first-time Olympian Will Fletcher. The duo also won World silver in 2015.

Peter Chambers, Richard’s younger brother, will race with his London 2012 silver medal winning crew-mate Chris Bartley in a lightweight four which includes Jono Clegg and Mark Aldred.

Zoe de Toledo will cox the women’s eight who have already been crowned European Champions and world cup silver medallists in 2016. This crew features Frances Houghton who’s set for her fifth Olympic Games appearance, while 2013 world women’s pair champion Polly Swann will enjoy her first Olympic outing. Swann missed London 2012 at the last moment due to injury.

Team GB will have a strong sculling squad in Rio with London 2012 bronze medallist Alan Campbell racing in the single scull at his fourth Olympic Games, while Jonathan Walton and John Collins will contest the men’s double scull.

Peter Lambert, Sam Townsend, Angus Groom and Graeme Thomas are set for the quadruple sculls with GB having won world cup men’s quad silver in Lucerne ten days ago.

A group of 12 men’s sweep rowers have been named in addition to the men’s four and will form the men’s eight, pair and two reserves.  The group contains London 2012 and Beijing 2008 men’s four gold medallists Pete Reed and Andrew T Hodge as well as London 2012 bronze medallists Tom Ransley, Will Satch and Matt Langridge. 

Nathaniel Reilly O’Donnell and Mat Tarrant, who were world cup winners in Varese in early May, are included along with Alan Sinclair and Stewart Innes who took silver at the European Championships last month. Both pairs will seek to prove their mettle as the additional Rio selections loom.

In addition, the final seats in the open women’s double scull, women’s spare and lightweight spare will be named in due course.

The selected athletes are:

Men’s Four

Alex Gregory

Mohamed Sbihi

George Nash

Constantine Louloudis

Men’s Single

Alan Campbell

Men’s Double

Jonathan Walton

John Collins

Men’s Quad

Peter Lambert

Sam Townsend

Angus Groom

Graeme Thomas

Men’s Pair, Eight, 2 Spares from:

Paul Bennett

Scott Durant

Matt Gotrel

Andrew T Hodge

Stewart Innes

Matt Langridge

Tom Ransley

Pete Reed

Nathaniel Reilly-O’Donnell

William Satch

Alan Sinclair

Matthew Tarrant

Cox of Men’s Eight

Phelan Hill

Women’s Pair

Helen Glover

Heather Stanning

Women’s Eight

Katie Greves

Melanie Wilson

Frances Houghton

Polly Swann

Jessica Eddie

Olivia Carnegie-Brown

Karen Bennett

Zoe Lee

Cox of Women’s Eight

Zoe de Toledo

Men’s Lightweight Four

Chris Bartley

Mark Aldred

Jono Clegg

Peter Chambers

Men’s Lightweight Double Scull

Will Fletcher

Richard Chambers

Women’s Lightweight Double Scull

Charlotte Taylor

Katherine Copeland