Rio heroes win host of awards at Sports Journalists' Association annual ceremony

Rio heroes win host of awards at Sports Journalists' Association annual ceremony

15 December 2016 / 16:00

Andy Murray and Laura Kennyled the way once again as Team GB stars swept the board at the Sports Journalists’ Association British Sports Awards in London.

Murray was named sportsman of the year in recognition of a stunning 2016 that saw him win Wimbledon again, defend his Olympic title and finish the year as world number one. 

Fellow Olympic champions Jason Kenny and Max Whitlock were second and third in the vote of Britain’s sports journalists and broadcasters.

Kenny, whose double cycling gold in Rio makes her Britain’s most successful female Olympian, was named sportswoman of the year ahead of Rio gold medallists Nicola Adams and Charlotte Dujardin.

And - as is her habit - Kenny picked up another prize. 

Her world record victory in the women’s team pursuit in Rio, alongside Joanna Rowsell-Shand, Elinor Barker and Katie Archibald was honoured with the Pat Besford Award for outstanding performance of the year.

In addition, the Olympic champion women’s hockey team saw off competition from the likes of Premier League winners Leicester to be named team of the year.

And it didn’t end there. Helen Glover and Heather Stanning - who retained their women’s pair title at the Olympic rowing regatta - received the SJA President’s Award.

Double Olympic champion Whitlock and diving duo Jack Laugher and Chris Mears were also honoured, receiving the SJA Committee and Chairman’s Awards respectively.

Team GB and Paralympics GB shared the SJA World Sport Achievement Award in recognition for their performances in Rio.

Sportsbeat 2016

Join Team GB Club today, check it out right here

Rio 2016